Town Of Ulster

Police Department

Kyle S. Berardi, Chief of Police

Town of Ulster Town Hall
1 Town Hall Drive
Lake Katrine, NY 12449
(845) 382-1111

The Town of Ulster formed its first law enforcement body in 1879, consisting of four constables. In 1983 the Town of Ulster Town Board abolished the constabulary and formed the Town's first civil service Police Department. Today the Ulster Police Department consists of twenty-eight sworn officers.


The Ulster Police Department includes the patrol, detective and juvenile divisions, communications and administration. The Patrol division includes an award-winning Police K-9 unit which aids officers in narcotics apprehension, tracking and general police duties.


Other responsibilities of the Department include the Drug Abuse Resistant Education (DARE) program, a School Resourace Office (SRO), certified hostage negotiators, snipers, Emergency Service Unit members, accident re-constructionists, community policing programs, and participation in the Ulster County Youth Court, to name just a few. On June 6, 2002 the Ulster Police Department was recognized by the Department of Criminal Justice as an "Accredited Agency".



Hours of Operation: